CONICET and the Chief of the Cabinet Office met the 80 fellows who will study abroad

They are part of the BEC. AR programme, which involves short stays for training overseas and is promoted by the chief of the cabinet office.

Salvarezza next to Capitanich during the event. Photo: CONICET Photography.

Jorge Capitanich, the Chief of the Cabinet Office, and the president of the National Scientific and Technical Research Council (CONICET), Roberto Salvarezza, met the beneficiaries of the fellowships for studying abroad for a short stay.

During his speech, Capitanich remarked that: “nations with strategic objectives of development should promote key areas such as science”.

“The BEC.AR programme is an instrument that aims to enforce science and technology policies applied to the development of the country”, Salvarezza stated and added: “It promotes the increase of the number of professionals studying abroad. In the case of CONICET, we are one of the main beneficiaries of the programme”.

For his part, Salvarezza also highlighted “the great number of applicants”, which was characterized as “a difficult decision”, due to the training of the candidates. Furthermore, he indicated that “a country with more science and technology leads to greater social equality and development”.

The fellowships awarded are part of the agreement signed between the Chief of the Cabinet Office and the Council in order to provide training for intern postgraduate CONICET fellows type I and II.

One of the features of these fellowships is that the main areas and topics of study of the selected fellows are aligned themselves with the National Plan for Science, Technology and Innovation: “Argentina Innovadora 2020” of the Ministry of Science, Technology and Productive Innovation of the National government.

Regarding that, the Chief of the Cabinet remarked that this programme “represents a significant step for the training of qualified human resources in strategic areas”.

The event was attended by authorities of the Ministry of Science, the National Agency for the Promotion of Science and Technology, YPF Foundation, representatives of embassies and academic authorities.